Sunday, 18 October 2009

engine feature

Engine Specifications

* Configuration: V4 or Inline-4 (MotoGP class), 2-cylinder (250 cc), 1-cylinder (125 cc class)
* Displacement: 800 cc (MotoGP class), 250 cc (250 cc class), 125 cc (125 cc class)
* Valves: 16-valve (MotoGP), none (two-stroke engine) (250 cc, 125 cc)
* Valvetrain: DOHC, 4-valves per cylinder (MotoGP),
* Fuel: Unleaded (no control fuel) 100 Octane
* Fuel Delivery: Fuel injection
* Aspiration: Naturally-aspirated engine
* Power Output: 240 bhp.
* Lubrication: Wet sump
* Maximum/minimum revs: 17500 - 18000 rpm
* Max Speed: 217 mph (349 km/h)
* Cooling: Single water pump

Monday, 12 October 2009

a special trophy

PICTURES: New MotoGP trophy
Attending the public unveiling of the silver prize were FIM President Vito Ippolito and Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta, alongside former 500cc world champions Kevin Schwantz and Alex Criville.

Both of the ex-riders have their own spot on the trophy with their names engraved, as do the other 57 winners of the top prize in motorcycle competition - including 2007 title winner Casey Stoner.

The previous MotoGP trophy, launched in 2004, had a more 'risky' design (third picture below) that divided opinion, but Ezpeleta explained that the motive behind the replacement was the change in engine capacity for this season.

"With the introduction of the MotoGP class in 2002, we decided to hand out a special trophy in addition to that provided by the FIM. We have now done the same for the change to the 800cc class, which came into effect this year," Ezpeleta stated.

"We consider the new design important, reflecting the important history of the championship alongside the exciting new era. It was important for us that we have a 'living part' of the trophy, that riders can add to and change every year," he added.

Friday, 2 October 2009

new form